#Blogtour #guestpost: The Runaway Wife by Rosie Clarke @AnneHerries @Aria_Fiction #saga

By | February 6, 2018

I’ve always been a bit of a fan of a good saga, and The Runaway Wife by Rosie Clarke – published on 1st February by Aria – certainly looks like one I should be adding to my wish list. I’m delighted to join the blog tour today – doesn’t this look good?

Love, marriage, obsession, betrayal and treachery in 1920s London – a powerful and gritty saga perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Josephine Cox and Rosie Goodwin.

The hedonism of London in the roaring ’20s is a world away from Annabel Tarleton’s ordinary country existence. Until a chance meeting with the charming Richard Fortescue at a society ball changes her life for ever.

Swept off her feet by the dashing Richard, and his renowned fortune, Annabel soon realises that all that glitters isn’t gold. Her bid for freedom has come at a terrible price and she finds herself trapped inside a marriage that behind closed doors is cruel and brutal.

Annabel has no choice but to flee, and will do everything to save herself, and her unborn baby, from destitution. But the very rich and very powerful expect to get what they want – and Richard wants only one thing – Annabel…

Here are those important buying links: Amazon | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

 

I’m delighted to welcome Rosie Clarke to Being Anne today to tell us more…

It is the 1930’s and money is tight in the Tarleton household. Annabel’s brother has to marry for money and she knows that her overbearing mother expects her to do the same. Annabel tries not to argue with her mother for her brother and younger sister’s sake but she finds Lady Tarleton’s nagging almost unbearable.

When Annabel goes to stay with her friend Georgie’s Aunt Jessie, she discovers another way of life. At Jessie’s home she is happy and enjoys love and begins to fall in love, but the man she cares for comes from the wrong side of the tracks as far as her mother is concerned and she knows a match between them is impossible. Unhappy and uncertain, Annabel drifts into a marriage that can never be happy and finds herself trapped.

The only way she can see of escaping her unhappiness is to run away, but for a girl of her upbringing that is impossible. Her mother would blame her for bringing shame on the family. Yet Annabel finds her life unbearable and it seems she has no choice.

This book is a follow on to Jessie’s Promise, but not an actual sequel because most of the characters are new to this story. However, it has ties to the first book and readers get to visit Jessie, Harry and their family and see how their little community is thriving.

Writing this was a lot of fun, because it was different from the usual sagas and trilogies. It tells the story of a girl who was wilful despite her mother’s constant nagging and bullying. She tried to do what was expected of her but that didn’t turn out too well and it is only after she has learned some hard lessons in life that she is brave enough to take her own happiness.

Both Jessie and Annabel are strong women battling against unfairness and the problems life throws at them. Very different problems which they solve in their own ways, but beneath the skin they are sisters, because they have courage and they are determined to make the best of their lives. In an age when women were too often treated unfairly, they fought back to get what they wanted and when they do find happiness it is through their own hard work and determination.

I think that definition works for women today as well as it did then. Although life in general is much better for women there is still some discrimination and unfairness and the only way to stand up to it is to be brave and fight for what you want. If right is on your side then speak out and be heard.

Life is for living and if you find love then you’re lucky and you should hold on to that if you can, as my heroines do in these first two books of the trilogy about strong women in times of trial.

I hope you enjoy the book and do get in touch at www.rosieclarke.co.uk.

About the author

Rosie Clarke was born in Swindon, but moved to Ely in Cambridgeshire at the age of nine. She started writing in 1976, combining this with helping her husband run his antiques shop. In 2004, Rosie was the well-deserved winner of the RNA Romance Award and the Betty Neels Trophy. Rosie also writes as Anne Herries and Cathy Sharp. Find out more at her website www.rosieclarke.co.uk, or follow her on Twitter.

Follow Aria Books:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Netgalley | Sign up to the Aria newsletter

Leave a Reply