Book Club Gold: More Than One Kind by Jean Gill #FreeBooks #GreatReads #bookclubgold

By | April 10, 2017

The second book I’m featuring today from the Book Club Gold promotion is More Than One Kind by Jean Gill


Discussion question

When Anne ends their relationship, Anton tells her, ‘You’re old and cold,’ and she takes the words to heart, feeling they must be true. Is his judgement of Anne sexist? Is 43 old? Is the attitude towards ageing different for men and women?

One year is nothing; one year changes everything.

‘You’re old and cold,’ are the words that end Anne Grüber’s three-year relationship with a fellow-teacher. What chance does she have now of finding love or even an adventure? Then she sees an advert that will change her life: a job-swap teaching in a small Welsh town. Is it coincidence or fate that brings her to the very place her half-sister was last known to live? What happened to the child born in war-torn Alsace and ripped from her mother’s arms?

Neil expects professional development when he steps into Anne’s shoes to teach in France. What he finds is passion. For one man, Luc, and for Alsace itself. Can he ever go back? And should he?

When Neil and Anne swap lives for a year, they both find that there is more than one kind of love.

More than One Kind challenges conventional views of family and responsibilities, making us question what risks we would take, and which relationships matter most, when tough choices have to be made. For fans of Kerry Lonsdale, Kristin Hannah, Hilary Boyd.

If you’d like a copy of this one – or of any of the other books in the Book Club Gold promotion – click on any image in this post. I’ll be back with another book at 1pm.

2 thoughts on “Book Club Gold: More Than One Kind by Jean Gill #FreeBooks #GreatReads #bookclubgold

  1. Jean Gill

    Thank you for featuring my book Anne! The other books collected as Book Club Gold look so good that I’ve downloaded all the ones I haven’t bought and read already – and they were first rate!

    Reply
    1. Anne Post author

      A pleasure, Jean – and my kindle’s considerably heavier now too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply